Dr. Joseph Sadek

Dr. Sadek is an Associate Professor of Psychiatry at Dalhousie University and the Vice President for CADDRA. He is also the clinical and academic leader, Nova Scotia Hospital, Mayflower Unit. He has been working at the ECT team at NSH for the past 10 years.

He completed his psychiatry residency training at Dalhousie University and his psychopharmacology research training at Harvard University. Dr. Sadek is a Diplomat of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (DABPN) and a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. (FRCPC). In addition to his medical degree, Dr. Sadek also holds a pharmacy degree (BSc Pharm) and an MBA from St. Mary's University in Halifax.

Dr. Sadek served as the head of the Neurosciences professional competency unit at Dalhousie University. He started the first public adult ADHD clinic in Nova Scotia since 2007. He is heavily involved in both the undergraduate and postgraduate teaching and has recently published a book called "Clinician's guide to ADHD, second edition". Dr. Sadek has several peer-reviewed articles and received several quality awards for his work.

Dr. Sadek served as the chair of the CDHA/IWK Suicide Prevention Task Force, the chair of CDHA Investigation sub-Committee. He is a member of the Business Planning Committee of CDHA and served at the Credentials Committee, CDHA, undergrad curriculum committee of Dalhousie University, Senate Discipline Committee of Dalhousie University, The University Senate, District Medical Staff Association, CDHA as Vice President, Psychiatry Medical Staff Association as President, Mortality and Morbidity Committee as a chair for 7 years. Research Ethics Board, CDHA from 2002 to 2011.

Dr. Sadek received the Mental Health Program Quality Council Certificate of Excellence Award for commitment to quality review (2012) and Mental Health Program Quality Council Certificate of Excellence Award for development and implementation of suicide risk assessment form (2012).

In 2017, he received St. Mary's University Alumni Award for community contribution. In 2019, he received recognition from the House of Assembly of Nova Scotia for his contributions.